RAS Foundation lends a helping hand to Riverina students

Eight young individuals from towns within the Riverina are among 40 recipients to receive a Rural Scholarship from the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW (RAS) Foundation.

The eight locals are: fourth-year medical student Benjamin Woods and engineering and commerce student Nicholas Tenison (both of Leeton), psychology student Jarrod Calabira (Yenda), secondary education student Caitlyn Jubb (Hay), community development student Erin Smith (Deniliquin), town planning student Amanda Carnegie (West Wyalong), engineering and fabrication student Darcy McDermott (Moombooldool) and midwifery student Emily Maslin (Ganmain).

These students identified the shortage of rural health practitioners and educators, inadequate social services, environmental issues, and the importance of the agricultural industry as the catalyst for pursuing a career which will contribute to improving their rural communities.

RAS Foundation Rural Scholarships assist NSW tertiary students who demonstrate a passion for rural issues, community involvement and have the determination to make a difference.

The scholarships support a diverse array of education and training pursuits and are designed to ease the financial burden of higher education and encourage students who want to make a contribution to country NSW to realise their


Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide